• The Creative Brief
  • Posts
  • Finding the Poets, Free Fonts that Don't Suck, and Thoughts on Creativity

Finding the Poets, Free Fonts that Don't Suck, and Thoughts on Creativity

Welcome to The Creative Brief. Your weekly newsletter to help you be more creative and stay inspired.

In This Issue:
đź‘€ Find the Poets
đź“š Resource of the Week
🔥 Free Fonts that Don’t Suck
✍️ Thoughts On Creativity

Find the Poets by Tom Elia

“ I get in trouble when I don’t read poetry. Case in point: One day, I was bouncing a script for a tech client off a colleague I trust. “Starts off interesting,” he said. “It ends well, too. But that line in the middle — eesh. That’s not language. That’s jargon.

I felt that twinge of panic you get when you’re on an airplane and you think you left your oven on. I retraced my steps through the script. Sure enough, nestled in the middle were a handful of words that reeked of PowerPoint.”

Resource of the Week : Brand Archive

All of the best creatives I have worked with have one thing in common.

They have tons of reference material.

Whether it is cataloged in the brain, saved on a drive, or pinned to a board. You should have a treasure trove of pieces you love. Pieces that inspire. Pieces that make you feel something.

Brand Archive is a new project from Richard Baird, and I am a fan!

They have a paid plan, but you can check out a lot of the stuff for free on Instagram, and on the site (that’s what I do).

Free Fonts that Don’t Suck

The only thing better than free fonts? Free fonts that are actually good.

Free Faces has 9 pages of just that for all your perusing and downloading needs.

Thoughts On Creativity

Creativity is self perpetuating.

Meaning, the more ideas you have, the more ideas you will continue to have.

If you want or need to generate ideas. Start with 2-3 new ideas a day. Start by noticing things. Start by thinking. Start by writing it down.

Because once you start, the hard part is done.

✍️

Inspo Dump

In no particular order, here are a few things that caught my eye this week.

What have you been inspired by lately?

Talk soon!
✌️